In 2017, many Louisiana law enforcement agencies participated in the “Click It or Ticket” initiative that put more officers on the road. As a result, over 11,000 speeding tickets were issued in that year, alone.
Abiding by the speed limit is something that every driver should strive to do every time they get behind the wheel. However, mistakes happen, and the police are ready to hand out speeding tickets to any driver going over the speed limit.
The question is, how much is a speeding ticket in Lousiana? If you’ve been pulled over, how much can you expect to pay? Is there any way to reduce that price?
Read on to have all these questions and more answered.
What Counts As Speeding in Louisiana?
What technically counts as speeding in Louisiana? There are a few factors worth considering.
The most important one is that Louisiana observes what is called the “absolute speed limit.” That means that anything over the posted speed limit–even if you’re only one MPH over–can be considered speeding.
It’s also worth noting that Louisiana’s speeding laws operate under “general speed law.” General speed law means that speeding isn’t just assessed by the posted speed limit on the road you were driving on. It is also assessed by the condition of the road at the time.
For example, if it is raining heavily enough to impede your vision and cause issues with traction, you’re going to want to slow down. If you’re driving at the speed limit but doing so under the current conditions is dangerous, you can be pulled over for speeding.
How Much Is a Speeding Ticket in Louisiana?
A speeding ticket will vary based on the amount over the posted limit you were driving as well as other relevant factors. You may also get a bigger ticket if the officer discovers that this is not your first speeding ticket.
On average, the lowest possible ticket will come in around $115. You can expect a ticket of this size if you were driving about 1-9 miles above the speed limit, no matter the type of road you were driving on.
Driving 10-14 miles over the speed limit will raise that ticket to about $215. Driving 15-20 miles over will result in a ticket of approximately $240.
If you were going more than 20 miles over the posted speed limit, you will receive a mandatory court date. Upon your court date, the court will decide how much you owe the state in addition to other potential punishments.
It’s worth noting that these numbers reflect the lower end of speeding ticket costs. In other words, these are the prices you’re looking at if speeding was your only crime.
What Factors Can Lead to a More Expensive Ticket?
There are a number of factors that can drive up the price of your speeding ticket. Let’s take a look at three of the most common issues drivers encounter.
If you’re charged with reckless operation, it means that the officer didn’t pull you over for speeding alone. Your driving was also deemed reckless or dangerous, meaning that you were putting other people’s lives at risk. Things like swerving erratically, driving on the wrong side of the road, or driving while intoxicated.
If you are charged with reckless operation, you’re looking at an additional fine of at least $200. Reckless operation charges may also come with a jail sentence of up to 90 days if it is your first offense and six months if it is not your first offense.
Speeding in a School Zone
Any time you are driving through a school zone, it is imperative that you check to see if the school zone speed limit is active. Most school zone speed limits are 15-20 mph. They are designed to keep students safe as they exit the school.
If you speed in an active school zone, the price of your ticket can go up. Remember, they’re no longer counting how many mph over the typical speed limit is. They’re counting how many mph over the school zone speed limit is.
How much your ticket will increase will depend on two things. The first is the parish you are driving through, as each one has its own rules. The second is how far over the speed limit you’re going.
Three Strikes System
The three strikes system applies to drivers who get speeding tickets frequently. If you get more than three speeding tickets in Louisiana in a span of twelve months or less, you’re looking at a license suspension.
On top of that, you will need to pay a $60 license reinstatement fee down the line, along with any other traffic tickets you were issued as a result of your many driving errors.
What Can You Do After Getting a Speeding Ticket in Louisiana?
If you’re looking at a speeding ticket you can’t pay on top of several other penalties, you may want to consider hiring a speeding ticket lawyer. It is possible to fight a traffic violation ticket, amongst other penalties, in court. However, you’re going to need a legal expert to do it.
Whether you hire a lawyer or not, always make sure that you show up for any court dates you are assigned. Failing to show up for court can turn a minor issue into a major legal problem.
We’re Here to Help
How much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana? It depends on how fast you were driving and any other violations you may be looking at. The bottom line is that you should always stick to the posted speed limit or a speed that keeps both you and other drivers safe in high-risk driving conditions.
However, we understand that sometimes, mistakes happen. Contact us to find out more about our legal services and whether or not we can help you fight your ticket.